Grills and Griddles
Blackstone 36 in Original Griddle with Hood Review: 768 sq in, 4 Burners
Quick answer
The Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood is the griddle to buy for feeding 8 to 12 people: four independent heat zones on a 768 sq in Omnivore plate that fits 30 burgers, plus a hood and rear grease management. Skip it if you will not season and maintain a steel top, or if you cook for two.
The Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Built-in Hood costs $539.99. Blackstone lists a 36-inch Omnivore griddle plate with built-in wind guards, four independently controlled burners, 768 sq in of cooking surface that holds up to 30 burgers, electric push-button ignition, dual folding side shelves plus an extendable shelf, built-in tool hooks, the BAR accessory system, rear grease management, caster wheels and a hood to protect the top between uses.
This review is based on Blackstone's published specifications, the listing and owner-review themes; we have not cooked on it ourselves. It is the step-up pick in the best 36-inch griddles. Size your griddle to your crowd with the griddle size calculator before buying.
On this page
- Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Built-in Hood specs
- What is the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood best at?
- What is the biggest drawback of the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood?
- What do owners commonly report?
- Who should buy the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood, and who should skip it?
- How does it compare with the alternatives?
- How many people will a 36-inch griddle feed?
- What about warranty, certification and recalls?
- Alternatives to the Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Built-in Hood
Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Built-in Hood specs
| Spec | Value |
|---|---|
| Burners | 4 |
| Cooking area | 768 sq in |
| Width | 36 in |
| Hood | Yes |
| Griddle plate | 36 in Omnivore plate with built-in wind guards |
| Heat zones | 4 independently controlled burners |
| Capacity | Up to 30 burgers (Blackstone figure) |
| Ignition | Electric push-button |
| Prep space | Dual folding side shelves plus an extendable side shelf |
| Grease management | Rear |
| Accessory system | BAR System |
| Mobility | Caster wheels |
Specs from Blackstone's published specifications and the Amazon listing.
What is the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood best at?
Volume. A flat-top griddle is a large sheet of steel heated from below, and 768 sq in is enough for 30 burgers, a full breakfast of pancakes, eggs and bacon for a big family, or a hibachi-style dinner cooked in zones. Four independently controlled burners let you run one side hot for searing and the other low for holding, which is the single most useful thing about a 36-inch griddle.
The upgrades over the basic Blackstone 36-inch 4-burner station ($399.00) are practical ones: the hood keeps rain and debris off the seasoned top between uses, the rear grease management moves grease away from the front where you stand, the Omnivore plate has built-in wind guards and Blackstone says it heats faster and more evenly, and the extendable shelf adds prep room.
Blackstone's accessory ecosystem is the other strength. Tool kits, covers, hard lids and adapters are widely sold, including the Blackstone Pro 22-piece tool kit ($58.99).
What is the biggest drawback of the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood?
A steel griddle top needs care, and neglect shows up as rust. The top must be seasoned before first use and kept oiled after every cook. Leave it wet or uncovered and surface rust appears quickly, especially in humid or coastal climates. The hood helps, but it is not a sealed cover. If you want a top that does not need seasoning, the Pit Boss Ultimate lift-off has a ceramic-coated non-stick surface. Read how to season a griddle before you commit.
The listing does not state total BTU. Blackstone lists the hoodless 36-inch station at 60,000 BTU across four burners; confirm this model's rating on its plate or spec sheet if you plan to compare propane use.
Finally, 36 inches is a lot of griddle for two people. Heating the whole top for two eggs wastes propane and time; a 28-inch Omnivore with hood or a tabletop model suits small households better.
What do owners commonly report?
Praise themes in verified owner reviews:
- Cooking capacity for large family breakfasts and parties.
- Rear grease management is cleaner than front-drain designs.
- The hood protects the seasoned top and adds a finished look.
- Easy push-button ignition and independent burner control.
Complaint themes:
- Rust when the top is not oiled and covered after use.
- Cooler zones near the edges and hotter spots over the burners, typical of large flat tops.
- Wind affecting heat despite the wind guards on breezy days.
- Shipping dents and assembly time on a large cart.
Who should buy the Blackstone 36-inch Original with Hood, and who should skip it?
Buy it if
- You cook for 6 to 12 people regularly, or host breakfasts and smash-burger nights.
- You want to cook several foods at different temperatures at once.
- You will season the top and oil it after each cook.
- You want rear grease management and a hood without paying for air fryer drawers.
Skip it if
- You cook for one or two; a 17 to 28-inch griddle is more efficient.
- You do not want to maintain a steel top; see the Pit Boss Ultimate.
- You want a real side burner for boiling; the Camp Chef Gridiron Pro 36 includes one.
- You want independent zones with dividers; the Traeger Flatrock has them.
How does it compare with the alternatives?
| Blackstone 36 with Hood | Camp Chef Gridiron Pro 36 | Traeger Flatrock 3 Zone | Pit Boss Ultimate 4-Burner | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Blackstone 36 with Hood | Gridiron Pro 36 | Flatrock 3 Zone | Ultimate Lift-Off |
| Price | $539.99 | $599.99 | $649.99 | $699.00 |
| Cooking area | 768 sq in | Not on listing | 594 sq in | 647 sq in |
| Burners | 4 | Not on listing, plus Sidekick burner | 3 U-shaped | 4, 46,000 BTU |
| Top | Omnivore steel plate | Pre-seasoned | Recessed steel top | Ceramic-coated non-stick |
| Lid | Hood | Hinged lid | Hinged lid | Hard cover |
| Grease | Rear | Not on listing | EZ-Clean Grease Keg | Grease tray |
| Extras | BAR accessory system | Sidekick open-flame burner | LED propane level sensor | Lifts off as a tabletop |
Specs from maker listings.
How many people will a 36-inch griddle feed?
Blackstone's figure of 30 burgers on 768 sq in works out to about 25.6 sq in per burger, including spacing. Using that ratio as a rough guide:
- Burgers: up to 30 at once, enough for 12 to 15 people with seconds cooked in a second round.
- Pancakes: roughly 24 to 28 medium pancakes per round.
- Breakfast for 8: eggs, bacon and hash browns cooked together in separate zones.
- Stir-fry or hibachi for 10: protein on the hot side, vegetables in the middle, rice on the low side.
Compare sizes on griddle size for a party of 12 and griddle size for a family of 6. Wondering whether a griddle can replace a gas grill? Read griddle vs gas grill.
What about warranty, certification and recalls?
The listing does not state warranty terms. Blackstone publishes its warranty coverage for griddles; read it, keep the receipt and note that rust from lack of seasoning is typically not a warranty defect. Outdoor propane cooking appliances sold in the US and Canada are generally certified to the ANSI Z21.58/CSA 1.6 standard; look for the CSA or ETL mark on the rating plate.
Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Protect the top with oil after each cook, and consider a HECASA 36-inch aluminum hard cover, listed for 36 by 22-inch tops including Blackstone rear-grease models, plus a grill mat on decks.
Alternatives to the Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Built-in Hood
Blackstone 36 in. 4-Burner Griddle Cooking Station
$399.00The classic 36-inch Blackstone with four burners totaling 60,000 BTU and folding legs for less money, without the hood or rear grease system.
Best for: cooking for crowds at the lowest 36 inch price
Check price on Amazon
Camp Chef Gridiron Pro 36 Flat-Top Grill with Side Burner
$599.99A pre-seasoned 36-inch top with a hinged lid and an included Sidekick open-flame burner for boiling and searing.
Best for: a griddle plus a real side burner
Check price on Amazon
Pit Boss Ultimate 4-Burner Lift-Off Griddle
$699.00A ceramic-coated non-stick top that needs no seasoning and lifts off the cart for tabletop use.
Best for: beginners who want non-stick without seasoning
Check price on AmazonHow we chose
We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.
Sources
- Blackstone 36 in. Original Griddle with Hood owner manual
- Blackstone published griddle specifications and warranty terms
- Amazon product listing and feature specifications
- CPSC recall database
- Owner review themes from verified Amazon purchasers
Frequently asked questions
Blackstone vs Camp Chef griddle: which is better?
The Blackstone 36 with Hood states 768 sq in, four heat zones and rear grease management. The Camp Chef Gridiron Pro 36 comes pre-seasoned with a hinged lid and an included Sidekick open-flame burner for pots and searing. Choose Camp Chef if you want a side burner. See Blackstone vs Camp Chef.
Traeger Flatrock vs Blackstone: which should I buy?
The Blackstone gives more surface, 768 sq in against 594, for less money. The Traeger Flatrock adds TruZone dividers, a recessed wind-resistant top, an LED propane level sensor and a grease keg. Choose Traeger for zone control in wind, Blackstone for capacity and value. See Traeger Flatrock vs Blackstone.
Do I need to season the Blackstone 36-inch griddle?
Yes. The steel top needs seasoning before first use: wash off the factory coating as the manual directs, heat the top, apply thin coats of high-smoke-point oil and let each coat burn in until the surface darkens. Repeat several times. After every cook, scrape, wipe and apply a thin oil coat. Our griddle seasoning guide covers the steps.
Can I cook with the hood closed on the Blackstone?
The hood is designed to protect the top and can help melt cheese or steam food briefly. Follow Blackstone's manual on how long and at what burner settings the hood may be closed during cooking, because trapped heat can damage components or discolor finishes. Never close the hood over a grease fire and never cover the griddle until it has cooled.
How long does a 20 lb tank last on a 36-inch griddle?
A 20 lb tank holds about 430,000 BTU. Blackstone rates its hoodless 36-inch station at 60,000 BTU, so at full output a tank lasts about 7 hours, and around 14 hours with all burners near medium. Most cooks run well below full output, so a tank covers many breakfasts. Try the propane tank runtime calculator.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.