Skip to content

Researched from published specs and owner reviews, not tested in person. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Backyard Gear Calc
Menu

Snow Removal

PowerSmart 26 in Two-Stage Snow Blower Review: Briggs & Stratton 208cc

Last updated Researched from specs, manuals and owner reviews, not tested in person

Quick answer

The PowerSmart 26 with a Briggs & Stratton 208cc is a strong mid-budget gas buy for wide two and three-car driveways, paved or gravel: 26-inch path, 20-inch intake, 45-foot throw and handle warmers for $999. Skip it for steep, icy driveways or if you never want to handle gas and oil.

The PowerSmart 26 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower with Briggs & Stratton 208cc costs $999.00. It pairs a Briggs & Stratton 950 Snow Series 208cc engine, rated at 2,700 pounds of snow per minute, with steel construction in the housing, frame, deflector and chute, an all-steel auger, 13-inch snow tires, a one-hand 180-degree chute control, adjustable steel skid shoes and handle warmers. PowerSmart rates it for 1 to 12 inches of snow.

This review uses the manufacturer's listing, Briggs & Stratton engine information and owner-review themes; we have not run it ourselves. It is the best gas value in the snow blowers under $1,000 roundup. Size your driveway first in the snow blower size calculator.

On this page
  1. PowerSmart 26 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower with Briggs & Stratton 208cc specs
  2. What is the PowerSmart 26 two-stage best at?
  3. What is the biggest drawback of the PowerSmart 26?
  4. What do owners commonly report?
  5. Who should buy the PowerSmart 26, and who should skip it?
  6. How does it compare with the alternatives?
  7. How do I set it up for a gravel driveway?
  8. What about warranty, certification and recalls?
  9. Alternatives to the PowerSmart 26 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower with Briggs & Stratton 208cc

PowerSmart 26 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower with Briggs & Stratton 208cc specs

SpecValue
Stages2
Clearing width26 in
Intake height20 in
Throw distance45 ft
Engine208 cc
Electric startYes
Heated gripsYes
Driveself propelled
Gravel safeYes
EngineBriggs & Stratton 950 Snow Series 208cc
Rated capacity2,700 lb of snow per minute
Recommended snow depth1 to 12 in (per listing)
ConstructionSteel housing, frame, deflector and chute; all-steel auger; steel impeller
Tires13 in snow terrain tires
Chute controlOne-hand, 180 degree
Skid shoesAdjustable steel
DriveVariable speed self-propel, forward and reverse

Specs from PowerSmart's published specifications and the Amazon listing.

What is the PowerSmart 26 two-stage best at?

Delivering most of a premium machine's clearing ability at a mid-range price. The 26-inch path is 2 inches wider than the usual 24, which removes a pass on many 20 to 24-foot-wide driveways: a 24-foot-wide driveway takes about 14 passes at 26 inches versus 15 at 24 inches with 15 percent overlap. The 20-inch intake handles plow berms, and the rated 2,700 pounds per minute is higher than the 1,900 Honda lists for its HSS928, though makers rate capacity differently, so treat it as a rough comparison.

The steel build is the second strength. PowerSmart lists steel for the housing, frame, deflector and chute, and steel skid shoes. Plastic chutes are a common failure point on budget machines in deep cold, so a steel chute is worth having.

Handle warmers and a Briggs & Stratton engine with a broad parts and service network round it out. Gravel owners get adjustable steel skid shoes to hold the scraper bar above stones.

What is the biggest drawback of the PowerSmart 26?

It is a wheeled friction-drive machine with no steering assist listed, so turning a 26-inch housing at the end of each pass takes effort, and wheels lose grip on steep, icy slopes. If your driveway climbs, see the best snow blowers for steep driveways.

The listing also does not state warranty length or weight, two numbers worth knowing before a $999.00 purchase. Ask the seller or check the manual. Throw distance at 45 feet is good but shorter than the 50 to 60 feet of the EGO two-stage kits.

And it is gas: oil checks, fresh or stabilized fuel and a storage routine every spring. Owners who skip the storage step are the ones who fight a gummed carburetor at the first storm.

What do owners commonly report?

Praise themes in verified owner reviews:

  • Strong performance in deep and wet snow for the price.
  • Easy electric starting on the Briggs & Stratton engine.
  • Handle warmers on long, cold clearing sessions.
  • Steel chute and housing that feel sturdier than plastic budget machines.

Complaint themes:

  • Assembly and cable adjustment out of the box.
  • Turning effort on a wide, heavy machine.
  • Shipping damage or missing small parts on some deliveries; inspect on arrival.
  • Shear bolts breaking on hidden objects, which is by design but catches first-time owners out.

Who should buy the PowerSmart 26, and who should skip it?

Buy it if

  • You clear a wide two or three-car driveway, paved or gravel.
  • You want a Briggs & Stratton engine and steel chute under $1,000.
  • You get storms up to about a foot and a plow berm.
  • You are fine with basic gas engine maintenance.

Skip it if

  • Your driveway is steep or icy; tracks such as the Honda HSS928AATD grip better.
  • You want no fuel or oil; the EGO SNT2405 is the battery option.
  • Your budget is closer to $500; the WEN SB209E costs $493.77.
  • You regularly get more than 12 inches at once and a long driveway, where a 28-inch machine saves time.

How does it compare with the alternatives?

PowerSmart 26 vs other gas two-stage machines
PowerSmart 26 B&SPowerSmart 24 212ccYard Force YF24WEN SB209E
ModelPowerSmart 26PowerSmart 24YF24-DS21-GSB2SB209E
Price$999.00$899.99$1,099.00$493.77
EngineB&S 208cc212cc OHVB&S CR950 208cc209cc
Clearing width26 in24 in24 in24 in
Intake height20 in21 in21 in20 in
Throw45 ft45 ft40 ft30 ft
Rated capacity2,700 lb/min2,500 lb/minNot stated2,000+ lb/min
Handle warmersYesNot listedNot listedNot listed

Specs from maker listings; capacity ratings are the makers' own and are not measured the same way.

How do I set it up for a gravel driveway?

Two-stage machines are the right type for gravel because the auger housing does not need to touch the ground. The adjustable steel skid shoes on the PowerSmart 26 set how high the scraper bar rides:

  • Park on a flat, hard surface with the engine off and the spark plug wire disconnected, as the manual directs.
  • Place a spacer about the thickness of your gravel under the scraper bar, commonly around a quarter to half an inch; check the manual for its recommended setting.
  • Loosen the skid shoe bolts, let the shoes rest on the ground, tighten both evenly and remove the spacer.
  • Clear after the gravel base freezes when possible, and aim the chute away from the house and cars.

More sizing detail is on the what size snow blower for a gravel driveway page.

What about warranty, certification and recalls?

The listing does not state warranty terms, so confirm them with PowerSmart or in the manual before buying, and note that Briggs & Stratton typically handles engine warranty service through its own dealer network. Gas engines sold in the US must carry EPA emissions certification, and in California CARB certification; the label is on the engine.

Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Keep spare shear bolts matched to the manual, and follow the snow blower maintenance guide for oil changes and fuel stabilizer.

Alternatives to the PowerSmart 26 in. Two-Stage Gas Snow Blower with Briggs & Stratton 208cc

How we chose

We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.

Sources

  • PowerSmart 26 in. two-stage snow blower operator manual
  • Briggs & Stratton 950 Snow Series engine operator manual
  • Amazon product listing and feature specifications
  • CPSC recall database
  • Owner review themes from verified Amazon purchasers

Frequently asked questions

Is the PowerSmart 26-inch snow blower good?

For a wide two or three-car driveway it is a strong value: a Briggs & Stratton 208cc rated at 2,700 pounds per minute, a 20-inch intake, 45-foot throw, steel chute and handle warmers for $999.00. Its limits are wheeled traction on steep ice, turning effort and a listing that does not state warranty terms, so confirm those before buying.

Single-stage vs two-stage: do I need a two-stage like the PowerSmart 26?

You need a two-stage if you get storms over about 8 inches, a plow berm or have gravel. The PowerSmart's 20-inch intake handles all three, while single-stage machines top out near 13 inches and should not be used on gravel. For short paved driveways with light snow a single-stage is enough. See single-stage vs two-stage.

How much snow can the PowerSmart 26 handle?

PowerSmart rates it for 1 to 12 inches of snow with a 20-inch intake height. It can take deeper snow and plow berms in slower, narrower bites, but for regular storms above a foot a machine with a taller intake or 28-inch path clears faster. Clearing during a long storm, rather than after, keeps depth inside its comfortable range.

Does the PowerSmart 26 have electric start?

Yes, it has electric start on the Briggs & Stratton 950 Snow Series 208cc engine. Check the manual for whether the starter plugs into a household outlet and whether a recoil starter is fitted as backup. Plug-in starters need a grounded outdoor outlet or extension cord, which you unplug before clearing.

PowerSmart 26 vs WEN SB209E: is the extra money worth it?

For wide driveways and deep snow, usually yes. The PowerSmart 26 adds 2 inches of width, a 45-foot throw against 30 feet, a higher rated capacity, handle warmers and a Briggs and Stratton engine. The WEN SB209E is fine for a standard two-car driveway where throw distance matters less.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.