Outdoor Kitchens
Blaze vs Napoleon Built-In Grill: 32 Inch Heads Compared (Plus Bull)
Quick answer
For a 32 inch island, the Napoleon Built-In 700 suits rotisserie cooks: 9 mm wave grids, an infrared rear burner with rotisserie kit included and a 2 inch cutout tolerance. The Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 wins on printed warranty, with lifetime coverage on its stainless parts, plus lighted knobs and a lift-assist hood.
Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane)
$2,499.00Lifetime warranty on stainless parts, lighted knobs and a lift-assist hood.
Best for: night grilling in a finished outdoor kitchen
Check price on Amazon
Napoleon Built-In 700 Series 32 in. Grill with Infrared Rear Burner (Propane)
$2,219.00Infrared rear burner with rotisserie kit and 9 mm wave grids.
Best for: rotisserie cooking in a built-in island
Check price on AmazonBlaze and Napoleon both build 32 inch, four-burner stainless grill heads for outdoor kitchen islands at nearly the same price: $2,499.00 for the Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane) and $2,219.00 for the Napoleon Built-In 700 Series 32 in. Grill with Infrared Rear Burner (Propane). Both add a rear infrared burner. The differences are in grids, what comes in the box, install forgiveness and how the warranty is written.
Many shoppers also weigh Bull, so this page includes the Bull Outlaw Drop-In Grill Head (Propane) and Blaze's entry Blaze Prelude LBM 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane). Before choosing any head, lock down the island plan with the outdoor kitchen planning guide; the grill must be chosen before the cutout is built.
On this page
- How do the Blaze Premium LTE+ and Napoleon Built-In 700 compare?
- Which should you choose, Blaze or Napoleon?
- How does Blaze compare with Bull built-in grills?
- Is the Blaze Premium LTE+ worth the upgrade over the Prelude LBM?
- How much propane does a built-in grill use?
- What should you buy alongside a built-in grill head?
- Which built-in grill heads should you shortlist?
How do the Blaze Premium LTE+ and Napoleon Built-In 700 compare?
| Spec | Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 | Napoleon Built-In 700 32 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $2,499.00 | $2,219.00 |
| Main burners | 4 | 4 stainless |
| BTU | Not published on the LTE+ listing | 66,000 BTU listed with four main burners and the infrared rear burner |
| Cooking area | Not published | 29.5 by 18 in., about 531 sq in |
| Grids | Patented triangle-shaped searing rods | 9 mm stainless wave grids |
| Rear infrared burner | Yes | Yes |
| Rotisserie kit | Not listed as included | Commercial-grade rotisserie kit included |
| Hood | Double-lined, lift-assist | Not described on the listing |
| Lighting and knobs | Illuminated control knobs, improved lighting | Not described; longer electrical wiring for install |
| Cutout | 30 5/8 by 21 1/4 by 8 1/2 in. | 2 inch tolerance on cutouts; see Napoleon install guide |
| Warranty on listing | Lifetime on valves, grids, housing, burners, flame tamers and other stainless parts | Not stated on the listing |
| Weight | 114 lb | Not listed |
Specifications as printed on the Amazon listings. Confirm cutout dimensions against the current installation manual before framing.
Which should you choose, Blaze or Napoleon?
Choose Blaze if
- You want the clearest printed warranty: lifetime coverage on the stainless body, burners, grids and valves.
- You grill after dark and want lighted knobs and a lift-assist hood on the Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane).
- You want matching Blaze side burners, doors and drawers across the island.
- You might start with the Blaze Prelude LBM 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane) and upgrade later into the same published cutout.
Choose Napoleon if
- Rotisserie cooking matters, since the Napoleon Built-In 700 Series 32 in. Grill with Infrared Rear Burner (Propane) includes the kit.
- You want thick 9 mm wave grids that Napoleon describes as virtually maintenance free.
- Your island is already built or masonry is imperfect; a 2 inch cutout tolerance is forgiving.
- You want published cooking area and BTU on the listing.
How does Blaze compare with Bull built-in grills?
Bull is the other brand most often cross-shopped with Blaze for islands. At the same price point, here is how the Blaze Prelude LBM 32 and Bull Outlaw line up, with the natural gas Napoleon Built-In 500 for reference. On paper, Bull lists more burner output and area plus NSF and CSA certification; Blaze lists the stronger warranty.
| Spec | Blaze Prelude LBM 32 (LP) | Bull Outlaw drop-in (LP) | Napoleon Built-In 500 32 (NG) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $1,749.00 | $1,749.00 | $1,679.00 |
| Burners | 4 stainless tube, 14,000 BTU each | 4 welded stainless, 15,000 BTU each | 4 stainless |
| Total main BTU | 56,000 | 60,000 | 48,000 |
| Primary area | Not published | 575 sq in | 531 sq in |
| Notable features | Heat zone separators, flame stabilizing grids | Dual-lined hood | 7.5 mm stainless grids, dual-level sear plates |
| Certification on listing | Not stated | NSF and CSA | Not stated |
| Warranty on listing | Lifetime residential, 3-year commercial | Not stated | Not stated |
From the Amazon listings. A warranty marked not stated may still exist; check the maker's current terms.
Is the Blaze Premium LTE+ worth the upgrade over the Prelude LBM?
The Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane) ($2,499.00) costs roughly $500 more than the Blaze Prelude LBM 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane) ($1,749.00) at current listing prices. For that you get a rear infrared burner, triangle searing rods, illuminated knobs, better lighting, a double-lined lift-assist hood and a removable warming rack. Both list the same 30 5/8 by 21 1/4 by 8 1/2 inch cutout, which is a genuinely useful detail: you can build the island around a Prelude now and drop in an LTE+ later without re-cutting stone. If you grill mostly in daylight and do not use rotisserie, the Prelude is the better value.
How much propane does a built-in grill use?
Propane holds 21,548 BTU per pound. The Blaze Prelude LBM lists 56,000 BTU, so all four burners on high burn about 2.6 lb per hour, roughly $2.15, and empty a 20 lb tank in about 7.7 hours. The Napoleon Built-In 700's listed 66,000 BTU works out to about 3.1 lb and $2.55 per hour with everything on high, about 6.5 hours per tank. Islands with frequent use are the strongest case for a natural gas line, which never runs out and typically costs less per hour; see propane vs natural gas grill. Cost examples use propane at $3.50 per gallon (4.24 lb per gallon, about 83 cents per pound) and 21,548 BTU per pound; swap in your local price.
What should you buy alongside a built-in grill head?
Match side burners to the grill line so knobs and finishes line up: the Blaze LTE+ Built-In Double Side Burner (Propane) ($949.00) has two 12,000 BTU burners and LED knobs to match the LTE+, and the Blaze 12,000 BTU Drop-In Single Side Burner (Propane) fits a compact island. For cold drinks in a narrow bay, the Whynter BOR-327FS 3.2 cu. ft. Indoor/Outdoor Beverage Refrigerator is 14.6 inches wide. If you are still deciding between building an island and buying a cart, read built-in vs freestanding grill first.
Which built-in grill heads should you shortlist?
The two heads compared here and the entry models from Blaze and Bull.
Blaze Premium LTE+ 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane)
$2,499.00Rear infrared burner, triangle searing rods, illuminated knobs, a double-lined lift-assist hood and a lifetime warranty on stainless components.
Best for: finished islands used after dark
Check price on Amazon
Napoleon Built-In 700 Series 32 in. Grill with Infrared Rear Burner (Propane)
$2,219.00Four stainless burners, an infrared rear burner with commercial-grade rotisserie kit, 9 mm wave grids and a 2 inch cutout tolerance.
Best for: spit-roasting and easier installs
Check price on Amazon
Blaze Prelude LBM 32 in. Built-In Grill (Propane)
$1,749.00Four 14,000 BTU tube burners in 304 stainless with heat zone separators, the same cutout as the LTE+ and a lifetime residential warranty.
Best for: a first island on a budget
Check price on Amazon
Bull Outlaw Drop-In Grill Head (Propane)
$1,749.00Four welded 15,000 BTU stainless burners, 575 sq in of primary space, a dual-lined hood and NSF and CSA certification.
Best for: high heat output per dollar
Check price on AmazonHow we chose
We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.
Frequently asked questions
Is Blaze or Napoleon better for a built-in grill?
Napoleon is better if you want rotisserie cooking out of the box and an easier install: the Built-In 700 includes a rotisserie kit and allows 2 inches of cutout tolerance. Blaze is better if you want the strongest printed warranty and night-friendly features, since the Premium LTE+ lists lifetime coverage on stainless parts plus lighted knobs and a lift-assist hood.
Blaze vs Bull: which built-in grill is better?
At the same price, the Bull Outlaw lists more heat and area, 60,000 BTU and 575 sq in, plus NSF and CSA certification. The Blaze Prelude LBM 32 lists 56,000 BTU, heat zone separators and a lifetime residential warranty. Choose Bull for published output and Blaze for warranty coverage and an easy upgrade path within the same cutout.
Can I swap a Blaze Prelude for a Premium LTE+ later?
Based on the listings, yes. Blaze publishes the same cutout for both 32 inch heads: 30 5/8 inches wide, 21 1/4 inches deep and 8 1/2 inches high. That means an island built for the Prelude LBM should accept the Premium LTE+ later. Confirm against the current installation manuals, and remember the LTE+ lighting needs a power source the Prelude may not have.
Do Blaze and Napoleon built-in grills come in natural gas?
Yes, both brands sell natural gas versions of their built-in heads. The Napoleon in our catalog, the Built-In 500 Series 32, is a natural gas model, while the Blaze heads listed here are propane. Buy the version that matches the fuel at your island, and have a licensed gas fitter connect it rather than converting a head yourself.
Do built-in grills need electricity?
Basic models with battery or flame-jet ignition can run without household power, but features like illuminated knobs, interior lights and rotisserie motors need a power source. Plan a GFCI-protected outdoor outlet inside or near the island, installed by a licensed electrician before the countertop goes on. Adding power after the island is finished is far harder and more expensive.
Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.