Skip to content

Researched from published specs and owner reviews, not tested in person. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Backyard Gear Calc
Menu

Mowers

EGO vs Greenworks Lawn Mower: Which Battery Mower Brand to Buy

Last updated Researched from specs, manuals and owner reviews, not tested in person

Quick answer

For buyers without a battery platform, the Greenworks 80V 21 in is the better value: $479.99, rated for half an acre, with a 4-year tool and battery warranty. The EGO LM2135SP costs more but adds a larger 7.5Ah battery, 60-minute rapid charging, variable Touch Drive speed and three interchangeable blades.

EGO and Greenworks are the two battery brands most people cross-shop, and their 21-inch self-propelled mowers show each brand's approach. The EGO LM2135SP lists at $749.00 with a 56V 7.5Ah battery rated for up to 60 minutes, a Rapid Charger that refills it in about 60 minutes, Touch Drive speed from 0.9 to 3.1 mph, LED headlights and a Select Cut system with mulching, high-lift bagging and extended-runtime lower blades. The Greenworks 80V 21-inch lists at $479.99 with a 4.0Ah battery rated for up to half an acre, rear-wheel drive with variable speed, a steel deck, LED headlight and a 4-year tool and battery warranty.

Across the two ranges, EGO tends to add features and larger batteries, while Greenworks tends to lead on price and battery warranty length. For most buyers, the platform you will build around matters more than one mower. Drawn from published specifications and owner reports, rather than side-by-side testing.

Run the numbers first Battery mower runtime calculator Check whether one charge covers your lawn with either battery. Open
On this page
  1. How do the EGO and Greenworks mowers compare?
  2. Should I buy the EGO or the Greenworks mower?
  3. Which battery mower has the longer runtime?
  4. How do EGO and Greenworks push mowers compare?
  5. Which platform should I build around?
  6. Which EGO and Greenworks mowers fit which lawns?

How do the EGO and Greenworks mowers compare?

EGO LM2135SP vs Greenworks 80V 21 in self-propelled
EGO LM2135SPGreenworks 80V 21 in
Price$749.00$479.99
Battery included56V 7.5Ah80V 4.0Ah
Maker runtime or area ratingUp to 60 minUp to 1/2 acre
Charge timeAbout 60 min with the included Rapid ChargerNot stated in the listing
DriveTouch Drive, 0.9 to 3.1 mphRear-wheel drive, variable speed
BladesSelect Cut: mulching, high-lift bagging and extended-runtime lower bladesNot detailed in the listing
Cut height1 to 4 in, 8 positionsNot stated in the listing
Deck21 in21 in steel
LightsLED headlightsLED headlight
Warranty in listingNot stated; EGO LM2114 lists 5-year tool, 3-year battery4-year tool and battery
PlatformEGO 56V ARC Lithium tools75+ Greenworks 80V tools

From each maker's Amazon listing. Runtime and area ratings vary with grass height, moisture and bagging.

Should I buy the EGO or the Greenworks mower?

Choose EGO if:

  • You want precise speed control and a mower that follows your walking pace.
  • You switch between mulching and bagging and want the right blade for each.
  • You want a bigger battery that recharges in about an hour.
  • You already own EGO tools or want EGO's snow blowers and riders later.

Choose Greenworks if:

  • You want the lower price and a published half-acre rating.
  • A 4-year battery warranty matters to you.
  • Your lawn has slopes and you want explicit rear-wheel drive.
  • You already own Greenworks 80V tools.

Which battery mower has the longer runtime?

The two makers rate differently, EGO in minutes and Greenworks in area, so there is no direct comparison. The EGO's 7.5Ah pack at 56V holds more energy than the Greenworks 4.0Ah pack at 80V on paper. A 21-inch mower at 3 mph covers about 0.43 acre per hour, so EGO's 60 minutes is about 0.4 acre in ideal conditions; Greenworks rates half an acre. Real results depend on grass height, moisture, bagging and self-propel speed.

For half an acre or more, either brand needs a second battery or a wider mower. Greenworks' 80V 25 in is rated for three quarters of an acre at $717.27. EGO's LM2206SP runs up to 70 minutes on a 10.0Ah battery with a cast aluminum deck that carries a lifetime warranty. See best mowers for half an acre.

How do EGO and Greenworks push mowers compare?

At the entry level, the pattern repeats. The Greenworks 60V 21 in push lists at $389.99 with a 5.0Ah battery, SmartCut blades that add power in thick grass, an IPX4 steel deck, 4-in-1 mulch, bag, side discharge and leaf modes, and a 4-year tool and battery warranty. The EGO LM2114 lists at $499.00 with a 6.0Ah battery rated for up to 55 minutes, seven cut heights from 1.25 to 4 inches, an 80-minute charge and a 5-year tool and 3-year battery warranty. Greenworks is cheaper with the longer battery coverage; EGO has the larger battery and longer tool coverage. Note the Greenworks push mower is on the 60V platform, not 80V.

Which platform should I build around?

Think past the mower. Both brands sell trimmers, blowers, chainsaws, hedge trimmers and riding mowers, and their batteries are not cross-compatible. EGO's 56V line includes two-stage snow blowers like the SNT2405, useful in snowy regions. Greenworks splits its range across 40V, 60V and 80V platforms, so confirm that the tools you want are on the same voltage as your mower. The battery tool platform guide and the best cordless outdoor tool systems roundup lay out each lineup.

Which EGO and Greenworks mowers fit which lawns?

How we chose

We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.

Frequently asked questions

Is EGO better than Greenworks for lawn mowers?

Neither brand is better across the board. EGO's LM2135SP offers a larger 7.5Ah battery, a 60-minute rapid charge, variable Touch Drive speed and interchangeable Select Cut blades. The Greenworks 80V 21-inch costs less, is rated for half an acre and carries a 4-year tool and battery warranty. Choose on price, features you will use, and which battery platform you want for your other yard tools.

Can I use EGO batteries in a Greenworks mower?

No. EGO uses its 56V ARC Lithium system, and Greenworks uses separate 40V, 60V and 80V platforms. None are cross-compatible without third-party adapters, which can void warranties and are not recommended. Even within Greenworks, a 60V battery does not fit an 80V tool. Pick one brand and one voltage for the tools you plan to buy over the next several years.

Which has the better warranty, EGO or Greenworks?

It depends on the component. Greenworks lists a 4-year tool and 4-year battery warranty on its 60V and 80V mowers. EGO lists a 5-year tool and 3-year battery warranty on its LM2114 push mower, and a lifetime warranty on the LM2206SP's aluminum deck. The LM2135SP listing does not state its terms, so confirm current EGO warranty coverage before buying.

How long does it take to charge EGO and Greenworks mower batteries?

EGO says the LM2135SP's 7.5Ah battery charges in about 60 minutes with the included Rapid Charger, and the LM2114's 6.0Ah battery charges in about 80 minutes with its standard charger. The Greenworks 80V 21-inch listing does not state a charge time. If your lawn needs more than one battery, a second pack is more practical than waiting for a recharge mid-mow.

Can a Greenworks or EGO mower handle a half-acre lawn?

Greenworks rates its 80V 21-inch self-propelled mower for up to half an acre on the included 4.0Ah battery, and its 80V 25-inch model for three quarters of an acre. EGO rates the LM2135SP at up to 60 minutes, which is about 0.4 acre at a 3 mph pace in ideal conditions. Thick or wet grass reduces both, so a second battery is sensible for half an acre.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.