Skip to content

Researched from published specs and owner reviews, not tested in person. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Backyard Gear Calc
Menu

Patio Heat and Fire Pits

Solo Stove Yukon with Stand Review: 27 in Smokeless Fire Pit

Last updated Researched from specs, manuals and owner reviews, not tested in person

Quick answer

The Solo Stove Yukon with Stand is the Solo Stove to buy for a big permanent fire circle: a 27-inch stainless secondary-burn pit, 19.9 inches tall and 44.1 pounds, sold with its stand. Skip it if you want radiant heat for a small group or portability; the 19.5-inch Bonfire costs about $250 less and carries easily.

The Solo Stove Yukon with Stand (model SSYUK-SD-27) costs $599.01. The listing is short: stainless steel construction, a 27-inch diameter, a 19.9-inch height, a 44.1-pound weight and a box that contains the fire pit and its dedicated stand. It is Solo Stove's largest round wood-burning pit and uses the brand's secondary-burn design, where air drawn through the double wall reignites smoke near the top of the fire.

This review draws on Solo Stove's published specifications, the listing and verified owner-review themes; we have not burned a fire in it ourselves. It leads the large-pit picks in our best smokeless fire pits. Check that 27 inches suits your seating circle with the fire pit size calculator.

On this page
  1. Solo Stove Yukon with Stand specs
  2. What is the Solo Stove Yukon best at?
  3. What is the biggest drawback of the Solo Stove Yukon?
  4. What do owners commonly report?
  5. Who should buy the Solo Stove Yukon, and who should skip it?
  6. How does it compare with the alternatives?
  7. Where can I safely put a Solo Stove Yukon?
  8. What about warranty, certification and recalls?
  9. Alternatives to the Solo Stove Yukon with Stand

Solo Stove Yukon with Stand specs

SpecValue
Diameter27 in
Height19.9 in
Smokeless designYes
Weight44.1 lb
Model numberSSYUK-SD-27
MaterialStainless steel
FuelWood
In the boxFire pit and dedicated stand

Specs from Solo Stove's published specifications and the Amazon listing.

What is the Solo Stove Yukon best at?

A large, clean-burning wood fire for a big circle of chairs. At 27 inches across, the Yukon holds more and longer wood than the 19.5-inch Bonfire 2.0 or the 24.6-inch Basecamp 24, which means a taller, more visible flame for gatherings of about eight or more people.

The secondary-burn design is why people buy a Solo Stove. A secondary-burn fire pit has a double wall. Air enters low on the outside, is heated as it rises between the walls and exits through holes near the rim, feeding oxygen to the smoke and burning much of it off before it leaves the pit. Once the fire is hot and burning dry wood, that noticeably reduces smoke drifting into faces compared with an open steel bowl.

The included stand lifts the pit off the ground, which improves airflow underneath and reduces direct heat to the surface below. At 44.1 pounds it can still be moved by two people for storage or to a new spot, unlike masonry fire features.

What is the biggest drawback of the Solo Stove Yukon?

"Smokeless" has limits, and the heat goes up more than out. Secondary-burn pits smoke during startup, when adding wood, when burning damp or unseasoned logs and as the fire dies down. Expect low smoke, not zero. And because the tall double-walled design channels heat upward, owners commonly report that radiant warmth at seating distance is less than they expected from such a large fire. If warmth is the priority on cold nights, a patio heater or a fire table with a built-in infrared heater warms people more directly; see patio heater vs fire pit.

The second drawback is wood. A hot, efficient fire in a 27-inch pit consumes firewood quickly, so plan on a steady supply of dry, seasoned hardwood for a full evening.

The listing is also thin for a $599.01 purchase: it does not state whether this is the current 2.0 design, how the ash is removed or warranty terms. Confirm those on Solo Stove's product page.

What do owners commonly report?

Praise themes in verified owner reviews of the Solo Stove Yukon:

  • Much less smoke than open fire pits once the fire is established.
  • A big, attractive flame for large gatherings.
  • Solid stainless construction and a clean look.
  • The stand as a practical way to keep heat off patios.

Complaint themes:

  • The stainless finish discolors with heat, turning gold and blue, which is normal for stainless steel.
  • Heat felt mostly close to the pit or above it.
  • High firewood consumption.
  • Price, plus accessories such as a spark screen and lid sold separately.

Who should buy the Solo Stove Yukon, and who should skip it?

Buy it if

  • You host eight or more people around the fire.
  • Smoke in faces is the main complaint about your current fire pit.
  • You have a permanent spot with the clearances your local code requires.
  • You have a reliable supply of dry, seasoned firewood.

Skip it if

  • You seat four to six; the Bonfire 2.0 with stand costs $349.99.
  • You want maximum warmth at seating distance; consider a patio heater.
  • You live with frequent burn bans; a propane pit such as the Outland Firebowl 883 is often allowed when wood is not, subject to local rules.
  • You want to cook over the fire with a matched accessory system; the Breeo X Series 24 is built for it.

How does it compare with the alternatives?

Solo Stove Yukon vs other smokeless and wood fire pits
Solo Stove YukonSolo Stove Bonfire 2.0Breeo X Series 24TIKI Reunion 27.5
ModelYukon with StandBonfire 2.0 with StandX Series 24 CortenTIKI Reunion
Price$599.01$349.99$599.00$450.00
Diameter27 in19.5 in27.5 in27.5 in
MaterialStainless steel304 stainless, ceramic coatingCorten steel, double wall16-gauge stainless
Weight44.1 lbJust over 20 lbNot on listingNot on listing
Stand includedYesYesNot on listingYes
Ash removalNot on listingRemovable ash panNot on listingRemovable ash pan
Cooking accessoriesSold separatelySold separatelyBreeo live-fire systemNot listed

Specs from maker listings.

Where can I safely put a Solo Stove Yukon?

Start with distance. Where the International Fire Code applies, portable outdoor fireplaces must be at least 15 feet from structures and combustible material, and your city, county or HOA may require more or ban wood fires. A 27-inch fire with a seating ring about 3 feet out needs a clear area roughly 13 feet across for chairs alone, plus that distance from the house, fences, sheds and overhanging branches.

  • Good surfaces: gravel, pavers, concrete or bare soil, with the stand in place.
  • Wood and composite decks: check both Solo Stove's guidance and the decking maker's rules; many composite makers prohibit fire features, and embers can escape even with a stand.
  • Grass: heat and ember risk make a non-combustible pad the better base.
  • Never: under a covered patio, pergola, eave or awning, or inside any enclosure.

A spark screen such as the Solo Stove Yukon Shield reduces escaping embers, and the Solo Stove poker and tongs ($59.99) let you tend a deep burn chamber from a distance. Compare wood with gas in propane vs wood fire pit.

What about warranty, certification and recalls?

The listing does not state warranty terms; read Solo Stove's published warranty for the Yukon and keep your receipt. Wood-burning fire pits are not gas appliances, so there is no CSA gas certification to look for; the rules that apply are your local fire code, burn-day restrictions and air quality alerts, which you can check through your local air agency or AirNow.gov.

Check the CPSC recall database at cpsc.gov/Recalls for this model before buying, and before buying used. Empty cooled ash regularly so airflow holes stay clear, and cover or store the pit to keep rainwater from pooling in the burn chamber.

Alternatives to the Solo Stove Yukon with Stand

How we chose

We did not test these products in person. Picks are researched from manufacturer specifications and owner manuals, engine and safety certifications where they apply, warranty terms, public recall records, and the recurring themes in verified owner reviews. We favor established brands with large review counts and parts support, match each pick to a real yard size or task, and place it in the tier where its price and capability actually belong.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

Solo Stove Bonfire vs Yukon: which size should I buy?

Buy the Bonfire 2.0 for four to six people, easier carrying at just over 20 lb and lower wood use. Buy the Yukon for eight or more and a larger, taller fire in a permanent spot, at 44.1 lb and 27 inches. The sizes are compared in Solo Stove Bonfire vs Yukon.

Solo Stove vs Breeo: which smokeless fire pit is better?

The Solo Stove Yukon is stainless, lighter at 44.1 lb and sold with a stand. The Breeo X Series 24 is made in the USA from double-wall corten steel that weathers to a rust patina, and it accepts Breeo's live-fire cooking accessories. Choose Breeo for cooking, Solo Stove for portability. See Solo Stove vs Breeo.

Is the Solo Stove Yukon really smokeless?

It is low-smoke, not smoke-free. The secondary-burn design burns off much of the smoke once the fire is hot and burning dry, seasoned wood. You will still see smoke while lighting, after adding logs, with damp wood and as the fire dies down. Start with small dry kindling, add logs gradually and never burn green or wet wood.

Can I use a Solo Stove Yukon on a wood deck?

Check Solo Stove's guidance and your decking manufacturer's rules first; many composite decking makers prohibit fire features, and embers can land outside the pit. If both allow it, use the stand, a non-combustible heat-resistant pad, a spark screen and the clearances your local code requires, and keep a hose ready. A patio of pavers, gravel or concrete is the safer location.

Researched, not professional advice. This page is compiled from published specifications, manuals, labels and owner-review consensus, not hands-on testing. Follow the manufacturer's instructions and product label, and consult a qualified professional where safety, chemicals, fuel or structures are involved. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.